Why I’ve made the switch from Sketch to Figma

Sorry, not so sorry

Pieter Heyman
4 min readAug 26, 2020
I’ve switched Sketch for Figma

My workflow until last month

For the last 5 years, I’ve been using Sketch and convinced other designers to do the same. I’ve shared projects and prototypes via Invision with team members and used Zeplin when I shared projects with clients. I’ve made my prototypes with a Sketch-Craft-Invision combination. Team members and customers left their comments in Invision and Zeplin.

Sketch is still great, but Figma works so much better on some very important features. A month ago I’ve made the switch from Sketch to Figma. In this article I’ll describe my thoughts on the benefits of Figma over Sketch.

Why I switched to Figma

Recently I’ve read a lot of great things about Figma. The following things struck me the most.

  • You can do a lot with the free version of Figma.
  • It works in the browser and so Figma is platform independent. (Sketch only works on Mac OS for now). A lot of developers I work with, still prefer Windows over Mac Os …
  • The prototype functionality works really intuitive and you can test the prototype immediately on different devices.
  • It is very easy to share UI’s and prototypes.

--

--

Pieter Heyman

UI / UX product designer with a keen interest in design systems.